top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShahram Jahansooz

Mexico Solo Exhibition Interview with Woman Magazine


Photography Magazine / Life Style

Shahram Jahansooz


BCM

WOMAN No. 43




Shahram Jahansooz’s Attitude


Photo Exhibition from 23 November 23rd to December 7th in Aleddin Gallery

Indeed, the people prevented from viewing the life, appreciating it, studying it, seeing beyond it, and embracing it know the life better than others. We were lucky enough to have a conversation with Shahram Jahansooz in Monterrey; the prominent Iranian photographer who shows the world to others through the lens of his camera. He was born in Iran but has been residing in Dubai, UAE for around 18 years. He showed us an interesting dimension of his work in a way that photography is seen as a business. Basically, the small daily details and beauty and living “in the moment” shall be taken into account.




Why did you decide to visit Monterrey?

I found a superbly beautiful scenery; not only in Monterrey but in the entire Mexico: spectacular mountains, lake, and various ecosystems which in harmony with each other despite the biodiversity. It is like having everything in one place.


We were informed that you are to launch an exhibition of your photos shortly here in Monterrey. Would you please explain more in this regard?

Yes, I have a local exhibition in Dubai and Iran. After visiting Monterrey and knowing the lifestyle here, I thought it would be great idea to hold an exhibition in this city. All my photos are from the Middle East, their cultures, their lifestyles; such that I guess its acceptance by the Monterrey’s people will be intriguing to me.


What do you think of Monterrey? About its people, landscapes, and attractions

Oh, that’s amazing. The people are really tremendous and smart. One can easily make friend with them. In addition, it is a pretty city with good lifestyle despite the language difference we have. Well, I don’t know Spanish but didn’t feel being a stranger here either.



What is your favourite kind of photography?

I do fashion and editorial photography. My photos are mainly portraits. But, I love scenery photography, especially urban sceneries.


Would you please tell us if your dreams have come true in your life?

Yes, because I love to take photographs from life as my eyes see, and through photography, I am able to represent my attitude to the people. Wherever I am, I see certain details from my surrounding environment normally neglected by majority of people. I try to capture the scenes by photography.


What has been the biggest challenge in your professional life?

The biggest challenge in my life is the fact that people think it will be a simple task to capture astonishing pictures if they have expensive equipment and know how to work with photo-editing software. Yet, they should not make this mistake. I have taken some of my photos with an analogue camera without aid of computer and computer programs and many similar stuffs. There are many things behind a picture such as framing and colour composition. Taking the photo is just 20 percent of the task. What takes more time is rigorous analysis before editing the photos.



And what is your biggest satisfaction?

The fact that I can show the small details and beauty of a place to people to enable them to see the world through the lens of my camera. This is what delights me the most.

Todays, technology has enabled us to record the moments at any time. But believe me, we ruin the miracle of enjoying the moments by capturing and sharing them in the social media.

I had a bad experience some time ago: I was coming back from Milan to Dubai and felt I had not enjoyed my trip because I had been permanently taking photos during the whole travel time. Now, if I wish to visit a place, I first put my cell phone and camera aside and concentrate on seeing the nature. First, I try to connect to the place and then make a plan and finally return to the same location for photography. As such, I lose nothing. I prefer to enjoy the life, sceneries, and cities rather than knowing what to capture. It is very important. I never take photo randomly.


What is you main purpose of taking photos? What will be your achievement?

I take photos to show to the people of different regions and cultures of the world. I like people to see my works and accordingly wish to visit the respective locations and get further information about them because I always attempt to exaggerate in demonstrating these places; something that represent them as unique and special. I do not take photos from well-recognized locations. I prefer to capture unknown areas and show them to people.



Certificate of Accomplishment

It was an honor for Aleddin Gallery to collaborate with the artful photographer Shaharam Jahansooz.

A certificate is hereby awarded to him as gratitude for his work and efforts and holding the photo exhibition from November 23rd 2016 to December 7th 2016.



Signature and Date

Gallery Director: Sofia Garcia

December 28th December


Calzada San Pedro 213

Col Del Valle

San Pedro Garza García

Postal Code: 66220

Galerías Aleddin S.A. de C.V.

Nuevo León, México


5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page